Skip to main content

Mona Scholarship

A pyramid casting shadows with brightly covered elements on and around

Some years ago, a guy called Patrick thought we should have an art prize for up-and-coming Tasmanian artists.

Patrick had a quiet word with David. David offered $8000, and the Mona Scholarship was born. Someone called Jim ran the show for a while. After a couple of years the prize was upped to $12500, and Lindy (David’s sister) got involved.

Nowadays, the Mona Scholarship is no longer.

Mona Scholarship Winners

2001: Phaedra Brothers, painter
2002: Andrew Evans, sculptor
2003: Kathryn Faludi Ball, photographer
2004: Philip McKay, painter
2005: Alan Young, painter
2007: Rebecca Coote, sculptor/glass artist
2007: Rob O’Connor, painter
2008: Alicia King, bio-artist
2008: James Newitt, time-based media artist
2009: Sara Wright, ceramicist
2009: Judith Abell, sculptor
2010: Cath Robinson, installation/sound artist
2010: Sonia Heap, installation artist working in dress
2011: Alyssa Simone, digital media artist
2012: Pip Stafford, media artist
2013: Rahni Allan, multimedia artist
2014: Liam James, photographer

Image: A Rat’s Nest, 2012, Pip Stafford


  • When: