Music at Mona

If the weather is good, the music is outside on the lawns. If it’s crap, it’s inside the Ether building nearby. In the museum, you might find musicians-in-residence Dean Stevenson and Colin Offord performing live each day.

 

Friday, 7 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Soil --- 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Laptop and synths. Tapestries of tones, thorn roses and alchemy.

 

Saturday, 8 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Checkerboard Lounge 1–3pm Mona Lawns
A powerhouse four-piece (guitar, Hammond, bass, drums) breathing fire, virtuosity and improv into classic soul and blues originals.

 

Sunday, 9 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Frengo 1–3pm Mona Lawns
DJ bringing 'the west winds and a round cerebral hug'. Big fan of the No Requests Movement, which is exactly what it sounds like.

 

Monday, 10 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Tom Robb Quartet 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Trad-jazz, original comps and free improv for piano, guitar and double bass, all anchored by Tom on the skins.

Friday, 14 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Hooper Crescent 2–2.45pm Mona Lawns
Frenetic, angular art rock with 'sharpened melodic sensibilities'. And drum machines. And samples. And synths.

 

Saturday, 15 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Grace Green 1–3pm Mona Lawns
A passionate groove curator with a flair for creating a warm, vibey atmosphere.

 

Sunday, 16 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
L$F 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Amapiano and log drums all afternoon long.

 

Monday, 17 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Holly.etc 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Plays TECHNO: T = technological noises. E = excellent track selection. C = can play other things besides techno. H = (is) hot. N = never plays ambient. O = omg it’s holly.etc. (Acrostic provided by Holly.)

 

Friday, 21 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Donna Hayze 1–3pm Mona Lawns
An absolute vinyl hound with a keen ear for what a room needs—whether that’s dancefloor disco, an ambient soundscape, some classic house, or something else entirely.

 

Saturday, 22 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
DJ Popsie Cool 1–3pm Mona Lawns
When DJ Popsie Cool hits you with her rhythm stick you'll dance with strangers like teenagers at a house party. It’s a beautiful thing.

 

Sunday, 23 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
DJ Sharkie Ra 1–3pm Mona Lawns
A big fan of unearthing fresh beats from female producers all over the world, delivering diverse sets of dubstep, afrobeats, pop, UK bass, hip hop, and more, straight from the subwoofer.

 

Monday, 24 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Sophie 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Sunshine on tap. Genres covered: afro / latin / funk / house / dance / disco / anything with horns in it.

 

Friday, 28 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
CMT Standards Trio 1–3pm Mona Lawns
An afternoon of standards in a variety of styles. Bass, drums, piano.

 

Saturday, 29 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
Montz Matsumoto and Ross Sermons 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Japanese-born bluegrass banjo-er Montz teams up with North Carolinian Ross for acoustic blues and bluegrass (with Celtic and Japanese flavour).

 

Sunday, 30 June 2024

Who? When? Where?
The Birds 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Guitar-based vocal duo hailing from Brisvegas. Soul and folk. Tippi Hedren notably absent.

 

Monday 1 July

Who? When? Where?
Zac Henderson 1–3pm Mona Lawns
An award-winning homegrown singer-songwriter-storyteller with blues, folk and rock influences. Good stage banter, too.

 

Friday 5 July

Who? When? Where?
The Visor Guy 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Not jazz, not blues, not noise. Fuzzed-out improv.

 

Saturday 6 July

Who? When? Where?
Jamie Pregnell Trio 1–3pm Mona Lawns
JP leads a jazz-posse (pozze?) with his elite guitar skills.

 

Sunday 7 July

Who? When? Where?
Gold Pen 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Funky-ass jazz-pop with electric keys, horn section and sprinkles of gospel. They also 'go cosmic' on occasion.

 

Monday 8 July

Who? When? Where?
Loveless Quartet 1–3pm Mona Lawns
An exciting new local crew 'exploring the realm of chordless jazz performance'.

 

Friday 12 July

Who? When? Where?
Adam Russo 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Melbourne-based guitarist who's been carving out a gnocchi-shaped niche in the Australian gypsy jazz scene, backed by Hobart's finest manouche backline.

 

Saturday 13 July

Who? When? Where?
Royston Vasie 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Originally veering between garage rock and shoegaze steeze, they've lately gone a bit more upbeat, slapping whip-smart sunny-sombre vox atop jangly guitars. Great name, too.

 

Sunday 14 July

Who? When? Where?
James Aylward 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Bassoon accompanied by classical sax and turntables.

 

Monday 15 July

Who? When? Where?
Lindy & Linzee, Lifetime Drumnambulistic Partners in Time 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Coupla old hands out here crushing it.

 

Friday 19 July

Who? When? Where?
Natalie Azodrac 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Deep, aching balladry with a country twang.

 

Saturday 20 July

Who? When? Where?
Thunder Fox 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Bombastic genre-blending pop-funk with big band energy, soaring vocals and an admirable commitment to real wet basslines.

 

Sunday 21 July

Who? When? Where?
Warren and Donna 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Proud Yuwaalaraay man (and fifteen year Tassie transplant) Warren—who's the brains / muscle behind Tin Camp Studios—is joined by teacher, healer and musician Donna for some songs and stories.

 

Monday 22 July

Who? When? Where?
Simon Patterson 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Explorations of the classic jazz guitar trio format. Standards and contemporary stuff.

 

Friday 26 July

Who? When? Where?
Craig Woodward 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Old-time fiddler, banjoist and Cajun accordionist does fiddlin' 'n' singin'; mountain blues and ballads; Cajun two-steps; waltzes and stomps from the swamps.

 

Saturday 27 July

Who? When? Where?
Restless Leg 1–3pm Mona Lawns
A long-lived Sydney outfit that formed at a backyard party in 2012 and never looked back. Lean, direct 'Antipodean indie'.

 

Sunday 28 July

Who? When? Where?
Tapir 1–3pm Mona Lawns
Tapir are a pair of herbivorous ungulates who steer a course between summoning up mirage-like soundscapes from some hidden world and pitching headlong into the deepest of grooves.

 

Monday 29 July

Who? When? Where?
TBC 1–3pm Mona Lawns